Ohio EPA Selects 2022 Environmental Scholarship Winners

Next Application Deadline is April 15, 2023

Nine environmental science and engineering students have been awarded scholarships through Ohio EPA’s Environmental Education Fund to study at Ohio colleges and universities. Students were selected based on academic performance, as well as research, employment/internships, leadership, letters of recommendation from education or environmental professionals, and other specified criteria.

“By investing in these environmental scholars today, we are actually investing in protecting the environment far into the future,” said Ohio EPA Director Laurie A. Stevenson. “We look forward to seeing their future work as well.”

Students (listed with their colleges, hometowns, and majors) receiving a $5,000 scholarship for the 2022-2023 academic year are:

  • Semra Dervisevic, Cleveland State University, Lakewood, environmental science and environmental studies;
  • Catherine Kirk, Otterbein University, Sardinia, biology and biochemistry;
  • Hannah Leibman, University of Cincinnati, Prospect, Ky., environmental engineering;
  • Jenna Schniegenberg, University of Cincinnati, Brecksville, chemical engineering;
  • Sunniva Sheffield, Oberlin College, Pittsford, N.Y., environmental studies and biochemistry
  • Taylor Shimek, Muskingum University, Zanesville, conservation science;
  • Hanna Sturgeon, Otterbein University, Newark, environmental science and sustainability studies;
  • Justin Thompson, Kent State University, Ashtabula, environmental studies; and
  • Kylie Youst, Kent State University, Hanoverton, environmental studies.

Among the research or environmental work experience projects of this year’s recipients: impact of California wildfires on urban air quality, oxidation for removal of microcystins from drinking water, design of lithium-ion batteries for storage optimization, impacts of biochar applications on soil and plant health, nuclear resonance imaging of organic aerosols, obligate grassland birds, environmental climate justice, and community gardens.

A total of $45,000 was awarded this year. Since the scholarship program began in 2000, more than $1 million has been awarded statewide to 398 students at 52 Ohio colleges and universities. Funding comes from civil penalties collected by Ohio EPA for violations of air and water pollution control laws. The scholarship program is administered by the Ohio Academy of Science.

The next application deadline for scholarships is April 15, 2023. Additional information about the scholarship is available by calling Ohio EPA’s Office of Environmental Education at (614) 644-2873 or visiting https://epa.ohio.gov/divisions-and-offices/environmental-education. To learn more about the Ohio Academy of Science, call (614) 389-2182 or visit www.OHIOSCI.org.