Developmental Disabilities Awareness Month Coloring & Essay Contest

Children from across the county participated in the annual DD Awareness Month coloring and essay contest for Knox DD.

2022 Essay Contest Winners: (left to right) Hallie Snow, Caroline Vonck, Reagan Cline, Jesse Row, Adin Dice, Emma Payne, Owen Burgess, Gracelyn Davis, Haley Page, Hadlie Kerr, & Hadley Curry
2022 Coloring Contest Winners: (left to right) Olivia Beeman, Charlotte Miller, Kenzie James, Bailey Higgins, Brice Hord, Rylei Morton, Gianna Hinkens, Alaina Reiss, Jacob Vance, & Paxton Potter

March is Developmental Disabilities Awareness Month and that gave the Knox County community a great opportunity to create awareness, to learn more about inclusion and to share in the stories of individuals who live, work, and thrive in our county. While the Knox County Board of DD and its various provider agency partners are active year-round in providing service and supports for those with developmental disabilities, March is a particularly fun time for us to highlight the important roles that individuals with developmental disabilities have within the fabric of our great community.

The Knox County Board of Developmental Disabilities would like to thank the elementary school students of Knox County for helping us celebrate. There were one thousand two hundred and eight-one students who participated in our annual coloring (K-2nd grades) and essay (3rd-5th grades) contest with one hundred and sixteen classrooms participating county-wide, representing twelve different elementary schools in Knox County.

We are proud to announce the winners of this year’s coloring contest (K-2nd grades): Olivia Beeman (Fredericktown), Rylei Morton (East Knox), Brice Hord (Columbia), Kenzie James (Pleasant St.), Paxton Potter (East), Gianna Hinkens (Danville), Avery Thomas (Knox Learning Center), Charlotte Miller (7th Day Adventist), Jacob Vance (Dan Emmett), Brooklyn Waers (Twin Oak), Bailey Higgins (Centerburg) and Alaina Reiss (Wiggin St.). The winners of this year’s essay contest (3rd-5th grades) were: Hadlie Kerr (Fredericktown), Haley Page (East Knox), Reagan Cline (Columbia), Adin Dice (Knox Learning Center), Owen Burgess (Pleasant St.), Caroline Vonck (East), Emma Payne (Danville), Matayia Ammons (7th Day Adventist), Jesse Row (Dan Emmett), Hallie Snow (Twin Oak), Gracelyn Davis (Centerburg) and Hadley Curry (Wiggin St.). Also, congratulations to Ms. Brooke Markle from Danville Elementary for winning the teacher classroom prize this year.


Information courtesy of the Knox County Board of Developmental Disabilities