Bennett to Serve on OSBA Committees

COLUMBUS — Marguerite Bennett, a member of the Mount Vernon City Schools and Knox County Career Center, has been named to the following committee at the Ohio School Boards Association:
Board of Trustees
The Board of Trustees has general charge of the affairs, funds and property of the association. It has full power to carry out the purposes of the association according to the OSBA Constitution.  The board is composed of the eight-member Executive Committee, representatives from Ohio’s six largest school districts and 18 representatives selected by OSBA’s five regions.
Legislative Platform Committee
The Legislative Platform Committee is composed of five school board members from each of OSBA’s five regions. The committee assists in state and federal legislative efforts, recommends policy positions and acts on resolutions submitted by boards of education that are members of OSBA. Committee members are elected or appointed by their respective regions.

Student Achievement Leadership Team

The Student Achievement Leadership Team is charged with advising and directing OSBA staff in the development and implementation of programs to help school boards improve student achievement. It is part of the OSBA Student Achievement Initiative, which is an ongoing program focused on board members’ roles and responsibilities in public education and marshaling members’ support to increase student achievement.
Central Regional Executive Committee
The Central Region Executive Committee provides governance and leadership to school board members in Crawford, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Knox, Licking, Madison, Marion, Morrow, Pickaway, Richland, Ross and Union counties. The committee is elected by OSBA members in the Central Region.
Committee appointments were finalized at the beginning of 2022.
Information courtesy of Mount Vernon City Schools