Governor DeWine Signs Ohio Transportation Budget

(COLUMBUS, Ohio)—Ohio Governor Mike DeWine signed House Bill 74, Ohio’s Fiscal Year 2022-2023 transportation budget, into law.

“This budget ensures that we can continue to maintain and invest in Ohio’s roadways,” said Governor DeWine. “Ohio’s transportation system continues to be a critical part of our economy, moving materials and people safely across our state. This budget advances our commitment to invest in state and locally-maintained roadways.”

House Bill 74, sponsored by Representative Scott Oelslager, was approved with bipartisan support in both the Ohio House of Representatives and Ohio Senate, investing $8.3 billion over the biennial.

The biennial budget includes:

  • $318 million for highway safety projects.
  • $2.6 billion for other state-maintained roadway improvements.
  • $2.4 billion for local roadway improvements.
  • $74 million in public transit.
  • $116 million for the Public Works Commission, including $14 million for emergency road-slip repair.
  • $8 million for electric vehicle charging station grants through the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency.

Additionally, the biennial budget includes various provisions to enhance and expand services offered by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, requires the completion of classroom or online instruction for driver’s training before beginning behind-the-wheel instruction, repurposes closed weigh stations, and creates a school zone around a preschool.

Governor DeWine also signed the following bills into law today.

  • Senate Bill 18, sponsored by Senators Kristina Roegner and Tim Schaffer, incorporates federal Internal Revenue Service (IRS) changes into Ohio’s tax code, amends Section 36 of House Bill 481 of the 133rd General Assembly to modify the law governing taxation, and declares an emergency.
  • House Bill 128, sponsored by Representatives Jim Hoops and Dick Stein, repeals nuclear provisions of House Bill 6 of the 133rd General Assembly and makes changes to electric utility service law.
  • Senate Bill 5, sponsored by Senators Kristina Roegner and Bill Blessing III, enters Ohio into the Physical Therapy Licensure Compact. The compact will make it easier for Ohio’s physical therapists to practice in other compact states, and non-Ohio physical therapists to practice here.

Senate Bill 7, sponsored by Kristina Roegner, enters Ohio into the Occupational Therapy Licensure Compact. The compact is not yet active, but nine other potential member states have pending legislation to join.