AG Yost, U.S. Attorneys and Pharmacy Board Issue Joint Statement Regarding Ohio Board of Pharmacy Rule

(COLUMBUS, Ohio) — On March 22, the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy held an emergency Sunday session to issue a rule prohibiting pharmacists from dispensing chloroquine or hydroxychloroquine for COVID-19 unless a person has tested positive for the virus or is otherwise approved by the pharmacy board’s executive director. 

Ohio Attorney General Dave Yost, the U.S. Attorneys for the Northern and Southern Districts of Ohio, Justin Herdman, and David DeVillers, and the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy, today issued a joint statement confirming that they are aware of the allegations leading to the Board of Pharmacy order and declared a joint commitment to investigating any violations of federal or state law committed by any individuals or entities, including healthcare professionals. 

“These are extraordinary times for the world, our nation, and the great state of Ohio. While we are seeing the absolute best of our healthcare professionals as they help to address the COVID-19 crisis, we will remain vigilant to address any self-serving behavior by any member of the medical community. Be assured that we will do our due diligence in holding accountable others who may be prescribing outside of a legitimate medical purpose. Where we find doctors or others who are abusing their professional licenses to help themselves or associates, we will move swiftly to identify and prosecute any wrongdoing that is a violation of federal or state law. We are committed to pursuing all remedies to address misconduct associated with the allegations leading to the Board of Pharmacy action, including seeking criminal penalties where appropriate.”

Gov. Mike DeWine on Sunday authorized the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy to file emergency rule 4729-5-30.2 of the Administrative Code.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *