Fourteen Ohio Schools Receive National Blue Ribbon Honors

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos has named 14 Ohio schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2019. Schools in each state are recognized in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, student subgroup scores and graduation rates:

  • Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state’s highest-performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
  • Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state’s highest-performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s student groups and all students.

In mid-November, DeVos and the U.S. Department of Education will celebrate with more than 350 school honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. The National Blue Ribbons Schools in Ohio for 2019 are listed below:

City School Name District
Akron Akron Early College High School Akron City Schools
Beachwood Beachwood Middle School Beachwood City Schools
South Webster Bloom-Vernon Elementary School Bloom-Vernon Local Schools
Columbus Bluffsview Elementary School Worthington City Schools
Milford Boyd E. Smith Elementary School Milford Exempted Village Schools
Convoy Crestview Elementary School Crestview Local Schools
Kettering Dayton Regional STEM School
Delphos Franklin Elementary School Delphos City Schools
Lewis Center Freedom Trail Elementary School Olentangy Local Schools
Minster Minster Jr./Sr. High School Minster Local Schools
Creston Norwayne Middle School Norwayne Local Schools
Solon Solon High School Solon City Schools
Wadsworth Wadsworth Middle School Wadsworth City Schools
Westerville Worthington Christian Middle School Worthington Christian Schools

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *